Liaison statement
Follow-on to IETF liaison: ‘Potential RTGWG work related to the disaggregated BNG architecture’

State Posted
Submitted Date 2019-09-05
From Group BROADBAND-FORUM
From Contact Lincoln Lavoie
To Groups RTG, rtgwg
To Contacts Chris Bowers
Jeff Tantsura
Alvaro Retana
Deborah Brungard
Martin Vigoureux
CcDeborah Brungard
Chris Bowers
Martin Vigoureux
Alvaro Retana
The IETF Chair
Routing Area Working Group Discussion List
Dave Sinicrope
Jeff Tantsura
Liaisons at Broadband Forum
Statements at IETF
Robin Mersh
April Nowicki
David Allan
George Dobrowski
Chris Croot
David Sinicrope
Response Contact david.sinicrope@ericsson.com
Purpose In response
Attachments LIAISE-339-IETFDBNG-01
Liaisons referred by this one Follow-on response to IETF liaison: ‘Potential RTGWG work related to the disaggregated BNG architecture’
Body
Dear colleagues,

In our March 1, 2019 liaison “Follow-on to IETF liaison: ‘Potential RTGWG work
related to the disaggregated BNG architecture’” (BBF LIAISE-281) we noted that
the BBF started work on control and user plane separation for a disaggregated
BNG (WT-459).   We are writing to give a progress update on our work.

- We have made substantive progress on the architecture and requirements for
DBNG. - The work has progressed well, but we would like to progress it a bit
more before liaising a draft copy. - We discussed the protocol to use and have
a decision to pursue PFCP. - We did note a distinct interest in S-CUSP from
operators and vendors from China.

We will continue our work sending a preliminary draft of the document to IETF
before publication.

Sincerely,

Lincoln Lavoie,
Broadband Forum Technical Committee Chair

CC:
Liaisons at Broadband Forum <liaisons@broadband-forum.org>
Statements at IETF <statements@ietf.org>
Robin Mersh, Broadband Forum CEO  <rmersh@broadband-forum.org>
April Nowicki, Broadband Forum Member Support Manager
<anowicki@broadband-forum.org> David Allan, Broadband Forum WWC Work Area
Director <david.i.allan@ericsson.com> George Dobrowski, Broadband Forum SDN/NFV
Work Area Director, <georgedobrowski@mail01.huawei.com> Chris Croot, Broadband
Forum SDN/NFV Work Area Director, <chris.croot@bt.com> David Sinicrope, IETF
Liaison Manager to BBF <david.sinicrope@ericsson.com>

Broadband Forum Reference:
LIAISE-339

In Response to Incoming Liaison:
LIAISE-281; IETF ref: https://datatracker.ietf.org/liaison/1631/

Date of Upcoming Broadband Forum Meetings
A list of upcoming meetings can be found at
https://www.broadband-forum.org/news-events/meetings/upcoming-bbf-meetings

Attachments:
None