Skip to main content

Liaison statement
Follow-on to IETF liaison: ‘Potential RTGWG work related to the disaggregated BNG architecture’

State Posted
Submitted Date 2019-09-05
From Group BROADBAND-FORUM
From Contact Lincoln Lavoie
To Groups RTG, rtgwg
To Contacts Chris Bowers <chrisbowers.ietf@gmail.com>
Jeff Tantsura <jefftant.ietf@gmail.com>
Alvaro Retana <aretana.ietf@gmail.com>
Deborah Brungard <db3546@att.com>
Martin Vigoureux <martin.vigoureux@nokia.com>
Cc Deborah Brungard <db3546@att.com>
Chris Bowers <chrisbowers.ietf@gmail.com>
Martin Vigoureux <martin.vigoureux@nokia.com>
Alvaro Retana <aretana.ietf@gmail.com>
The IETF Chair <chair@ietf.org>
Routing Area Working Group Discussion List <rtgwg@ietf.org>
Dave Sinicrope <david.sinicrope@ericsson.com>
Jeff Tantsura <jefftant.ietf@gmail.com>
Liaisons at Broadband Forum <liaisons@broadband-forum.org>
Statements at IETF <statements@ietf.org>
Robin Mersh<rmersh@broadband-forum.org>
April Nowicki <anowicki@broadband-forum.org>
David Allan <david.i.allan@ericsson.com>
George Dobrowski <georgedobrowski@mail01.huawei.com>
Chris Croot <chris.croot@bt.com>
David Sinicrope <david.sinicrope@ericsson.com>
Response Contact david.sinicrope@ericsson.com>
Purpose In response
Attachments LIAISE-339-IETFDBNG-01
Liaisons referred by this one Follow-on response to IETF liaison: ‘Potential RTGWG work related to the disaggregated BNG architecture’
Liaisons referring to this one IESG follow-up regarding 'Potential RTGWG work related to the disaggregated BNG architecture'
Body
Dear colleagues,

In our March 1, 2019 liaison “Follow-on to IETF liaison: ‘Potential RTGWG work
related to the disaggregated BNG architecture’” (BBF LIAISE-281) we noted that
the BBF started work on control and user plane separation for a disaggregated
BNG (WT-459).   We are writing to give a progress update on our work.

- We have made substantive progress on the architecture and requirements for
DBNG. - The work has progressed well, but we would like to progress it a bit
more before liaising a draft copy. - We discussed the protocol to use and have
a decision to pursue PFCP. - We did note a distinct interest in S-CUSP from
operators and vendors from China.

We will continue our work sending a preliminary draft of the document to IETF
before publication.

Sincerely,

Lincoln Lavoie,
Broadband Forum Technical Committee Chair

CC:
Liaisons at Broadband Forum <liaisons@broadband-forum.org>
Statements at IETF <statements@ietf.org>
Robin Mersh, Broadband Forum CEO  <rmersh@broadband-forum.org>
April Nowicki, Broadband Forum Member Support Manager
<anowicki@broadband-forum.org> David Allan, Broadband Forum WWC Work Area
Director <david.i.allan@ericsson.com> George Dobrowski, Broadband Forum SDN/NFV
Work Area Director, <georgedobrowski@mail01.huawei.com> Chris Croot, Broadband
Forum SDN/NFV Work Area Director, <chris.croot@bt.com> David Sinicrope, IETF
Liaison Manager to BBF <david.sinicrope@ericsson.com>

Broadband Forum Reference:
LIAISE-339

In Response to Incoming Liaison:
LIAISE-281; IETF ref: https://datatracker.ietf.org/liaison/1631/

Date of Upcoming Broadband Forum Meetings
A list of upcoming meetings can be found at
https://www.broadband-forum.org/news-events/meetings/upcoming-bbf-meetings

Attachments:
None