Skip to main content

Liaison statement
Liaison from the MPLS Working Group on Network Slicing Identifier scalability

State Posted
Submitted Date 2021-07-08
From Group mpls
From Contact Loa Andersson
To Group 3GPP
To Contacts Lionel Morand <lionel.morand@orange.com>
Susanna Kooistra <3GPPLiaison@etsi.org>
Cc John Scudder <jgs@juniper.net>
Alvaro Retana <aretana.ietf@gmail.com>
Multiprotocol Label Switching Discussion List <mpls@ietf.org>
Loa Andersson <loa@pi.nu>
Martin Vigoureux <martin.vigoureux@nokia.com>
Nicolai Leymann <n.leymann@telekom.de>
Gonzalo Camarillo <gonzalo.camarillo@ericsson.com>
Tarek Saad <tsaad.net@gmail.com>
Response Contact Loa Andersson <loa@pi.nu>
Nicolai Leymann <n.leymann@telekom.de>
Tarek Saad <tsaad.net@gmail.com>
Purpose For comment
Deadline 2021-07-27 Action Needed
Attachments (None)
Body
Dear 3GPP

We write to 3GPP to seek their advice on the required scaling of network
slicing in underlay network applications.

MPLS is commonly used in a network to provide an underlay service to
network layer protocols such as IP and to data link protocols such as
Ethernet.

The IETF MPLS Working Group has received proposals for methods
Including a network slice identifier in an MPLS label stack to
facilitate operation of MPLS in network slicing applications.

As part of evaluating the viability of such proposals we would find it
useful to receive your thoughts on the number of concurrent slices that
we should design to.

Loa Andersson
IETF MPLS working Group co-chair