Skip to main content

Liaison statement
Response to LS on work progress on Quantum Key Distribution (QKD) network in SG13

Additional information about IETF liaison relationships is available on the IETF webpage and the Internet Architecture Board liaison webpage.
State Posted
Submitted Date 2021-09-10
From Group IAB
From Contact Mirja Kühlewind
To Group ITU-T-SG-13
To Contacts
Cc The IAB Executive Director <>
Scott Mansfield <>
The IAB Chair <>
The IAB <>
The IRTF Chair <>
Response Contact The IAB Chair <>
The IAB Executive Director <>
Technical Contact
Purpose In response
Attachments (None)
Liaisons referred by this one LS on work progress on Quantum Key Distribution (QKD) network in SG13 (as of July 2021)
The IAB thanks ITU-T SG13 for the information regarding their recent progress
on quantum key distribution topics.

The IRTF Quantum Internet Research Group (QIRG) is considering the general
problem of building quantum internetworks, including aspects of routing,
resource allocation, establishment of entangled quantum state,
interoperability, security, and API design. Quantum key distribution is one
aspect of the work of QIRG, although it is not the main focus of that group.

The IAB notes that the QIRG  is in the process of finalising documents
describing Application Scenarios for the Quantum Internet [1] and Architectural
Principles for the Quantum Internet [2]. The research group would welcome
feedback on those documents, and collaboration in conducting further research
in the area, including on quantum key distribution.

Further details about QIRG can be found here: QIRG welcomes focused proposals
for research topics which address specific problems in this area. IRTF research
groups facilitate research collaboration based on contributions and research
topics that are proposed by individual IRTF participants. Since the IRTF is not
a standards development organisation, direct engagement in the research by
individuals is preferred to communication via liaison statement.

Mirja Kühlewind, IAB Chair
Colin Perkins, IRTF Chair