

## Jonathan B. Postel

- First editor of the IETF RFC Series
- Authored or co-authored more than 200 RFCs
- First director of IANA
- Member of the IAB (1990-1993)
- Chair of the IRTF (1992-1995)
- First member of the Internet Society (1992)





## Be conservative in what you do, be liberal in what you accept from others.

- Robustness Principle, RFC 793



The Jonathan B. Postel Award was established by the Internet Society to honor individuals or organizations that, like Jon Postel, have made outstanding contributions in service to the data communications community.

Awardees are recognized with a crystal trophy and a USD 20,000 prize.



## Jonathan B. Postel Service Award Past Honorees

1999: Jon Postel (posthumously) 2008: La Fundación Escuela Latinoamericana

2000: Scott Bradner de Redes 2009: CSNET

2001: Daniel Karrenberg 2010: Prof. Jianping Wu

2002: Steve Wolff 2011: Prof. Kilnam Chon

2003: Peter Kirstein 2012: Pierre Ouedraogo

2004: Phill Gross 2013: Elizabeth "Jake" Feinler

2005: Jun Murai 2014: Mahabir Pun

2006: Bob Braden and Joyce K. Reynolds 2015: Rob Blokzijl

2007: Nii Quaynor 2016: Kanchana Kanchanasut

2017: kc claffy



## Jonathan B. Postel Sevice Award Criteria:

- Sustained and substantial technical contributions
- Service to the community

Leadership Award Committee: Comprised of past honorees

Awardees are recognized with a crystal trophy and a USD 20,000 prize.

Nominations accepted: 21 March – 2 May 2018

https://www.internetsociety.org/postel



