

Jonathan B. Postel

- First editor of the IETF RFC Series
- Authored or co-authored more than 200 RFCs
- First director of IANA
- Member of the IAB (1990-1993)
- Chair of the IRTF (1992-1995)
- First member of the Internet Society (1992)





The Jonathan B. Postel Service Award was established by the Internet Society to honor individuals or organizations that, like Jon Postel, have made outstanding contributions in service to the data communications community.

Awardees are recognized with a crystal trophy and a USD20,000 prize.



Jonathan B. Postel Service Award Past Honorees

1999: Jon Postel (posthumously)

2000: Scott Bradner

2001: Daniel Karrenberg

2002: Steve Wolff

2003: Peter Kirstein

2004: Phill Gross

2005: Jun Murai

2006: Bob Braden and Joyce K. Reynolds

2007: Nii Quaynor

2008: La Fundación Escuela Latinoamericana

de Redes 2009: CSNET

2010: Prof. Jianping Wu

2011: Prof. Kilnam Chon

2012: Pierre Ouedraogo

2013: Elizabeth "Jake" Feinler

2014: Mahabir Pun

2015: Rob Blokzijl

2016: Kanchana Kanchanasut

2017: kc claffy

2018: Steven G. Huter



Jonathan B. Postel Award 2019 Honoree

Adeola Alain Patrick Aina For his leadership in pioneering the Internet in Africa and building technical communities that helped connect countless others across the continent and beyond.



