





## Jonathan B. Postel

- First editor of the IETF RFC Series
- Authored or co-authored more than 200 RFCs
- First director of IANA
- Member of the IAB (1990-1993)
- Chair of the IRTF (1992-1995)
- First member of the Internet Society (1992)

"Be conservative in what you do, be liberal in what you accept from others."

- Robustness Principle, RFC 793





The Jonathan B. Postel Award was established by the Internet Society to honor individuals or organizations that, like Jon Postel, have made outstanding contributions in service to the data communications community.



## Jonathan B. Service Award Past Honorees

1999: Jon Postel (posthumously)

2000: Scott Bradner

2001: Daniel Karrenberg

2002: Steve Wolff

2003: Peter Kirstein

2004: Phill Gross

2005: Jun Murai

2006: Bob Braden and

Joyce K. Reynolds

2007: Nii Quaynor

2008: La Fundación Escuela

Latinoamericana

de Redes

2009: CSNET

2010: Prof. Jianping Wu

2011: Prof. Kilnam Chon

2012: Pierre Ouedraogo

2013: Elizabeth "Jake" Feinler

2014: Mahabir Pun

2015: Rob Blokzijl

2016: Kanchana Kanchanasut



## Jonathan B. Postel Sevice Award Criteria:

- Sustained and substantial technical contributions
- Service to the community

Leadership Award Committee: Comprised of past honorees

Awardees are recognized with a crystal trophy and a USD 20,000 prize.

Nominations accepted: 26 March – 3 May 2017

https://www.internetsociety.org/postel







