Skip to main content

NomCom 2014 Concluded

Welcome to the IETF 2014 Nomcom Pages

Contact info

Voting Members

  • Dacheng Zhang, Huawei
  • Stig Venaas, Cisco
  • Xiaohu XU, Huawei
  • Yunfei Zhang, Coolpad
  • Russ White, Ericsson
  • Tissa Senevirathne, Cisco
  • Murray Kucherawy, Facebook
  • Michael Jones, Microsoft
  • Lixia Zhang, UCLA
  • Ari Keränen, Ericsson

Non-Voting Members

  • Chair: Michael Richardson
  • Past-Chair: Allison Mankin
  • IAB Liason: Joe Hildebrand
  • IESG: Barry Leiba
  • IAOC: Ole Jacobsen
  • ISOC: Desiree Miloshevic

Positions to be Filled

The list of people and posts whose terms end with the March 2015 IETF meeting, and thus the positions for which this Nomcom is responsible.


  • Randy Bush


  • Joel Halpern*
  • Russ Housley
  • Eliot Lear
  • Xing Li
  • Andrew Sullivan
  • Dave Thaler


  • Pete Resnick* (Applications)
  • Ted Lemon (Internet)
  • Joel Jaeggli (Operations and Management)
  • Richard Barnes (RAI)
  • Adrian Farrel* (Routing)
  • Stephen Farrell (Security)
  • Spencer Dawkins (Transport)
  • Jari Arkko (Gen)

names with (*) have declared they will not stand again


A public calendar is available at:

  • 2014-Mar-28 Nomcom Chair Announcement made.
  • 2014-May-15 FIRST message volunteers
  • 2014-May-29 SECOND message volunteers
  • 2014-Jun-12 THIRD message volunteers
  • 2014-Jun-19 Timeline and Seeds for Random Selection
  • 2014-Jun-26 Final Announcement of Qualified Volunteers
  • 2014-Jul-03 Raise issues on qualified volunteers by 23:59 EDT
  • 2014-Jul-06 Seed values available from seed sources
  • 2014-Jul-06 Run random selection algorithm and publish results
  • 2014-Jul-07 challenge process begins
  • 2014-Jul-16 challenge process ends
  • 2014-Jul-17 Results of Random Selection
  • 2014-Jul-20 nomcom breakfast
  • 2014-Jul-23 nomcom breakfast
  • 2014-Jul-31 publish schedule for fall as per, about:


  • 2014-Aug-28 first call for nominations
  • 2014-Sep-11 second call for nominations
  • 2014-Sep-25 final call for nominations
  • 2014-Oct-11 deadline for nominations
  • 2014-Oct-25 deadline for questionnaires
  • 2014-Nov-06 nomcom office hours announcement + feedback
  • 2014-Nov-20 second call for community feedback
  • 2014-Nov-28 deadline for all community feedback
  • 2014-Dec-04 initial slate of candidates
  • 2014-Dec-11 IAOC confirmation write up sent up to IESG (in time for Dec. 18 confirmation vote )
  • 2014-Dec-18 IAB confirmation write up sent up to ISOC (to be confirmed)
  • 2014-Dec-31 IESG confirmation write up sent up to IAB (in time for Jan. 7 confirmation vote)
  • 2015-Feb-05 target date for NOMCOM announcements


The following are the seed sources (in order) that will be used in selecting the 2014-15 NomCom members:

Canadian Lottery Lotto 649 Wednesday, July 2, 2014 Results: (7 numbers including the bonus number: numbers between 1 and 49) WHICH IS: 13 15 20 27 28 47 49

US National debt ("Debt Held by the Public"), published by the Treasury department as of Thursday, July 3, 2014 Last 8 digits, ignore the commas and periods WHICH IS: 111,122.40

US National debt ("Intragovernmental Holdings"), published by the Treasury department as of Thursday, July 3, 2014 Last 8 digits, ignore the commas and periods WHICH IS: 316,454.83

Euromillions Lottery Friday July 4, 2014 Results: (7 numbers including the star balls: 5 numbers between 1 and 50 and 2 star balls between 1 and 11) WHICH IS: 02 04 06 18 39 43 47.

As per 3797, leading zeros are included.

All the above seeds will be provided (in the order listed above) as input to the RFC 3797 selection algorithm to determine the ten voting members of the 2014-15 Nomcom.