Skip to main content

Nomcom 2011-2012: Third Call for Volunteers
July 4, 2011

NomCom Chair <>
IETF Announcement list <>
July 4, 2011
Nomcom 2011-2012: Third Call for Volunteers
This is the Third call for Volunteers for the 2011-12 Nomcom.  We are
almost through the volunteer period so if you are considering
volunteering, please do so very soon. 

We have had a very good response to the initial call for volunteers and
I am pleased to report that we have 84 volunteers thus far whose
qualifications have been confirmed by the secretariat. I have notified
each of these volunteers by email.  

However, we would like to have many more volunteers. The more volunteers,
the better chance we have of choosing a random yet representative cross 
section of the IETF population. You have until 11:59 pm EDT July 10, 2011 
to volunteer for Nomcom but it would be much better if you can volunteer 
as early as possible. 

If you volunteered before 09:00 EDT on June 29 to serve as a voting member
and have not received a confirmation email from me, please re-submit and 
bring to my attention right away!
Details about the process for volunteering for the Nomcom and the list 
of open positions for which the nominating committee is responsible are
summarized in the initial announcement:

The 84 volunteers who have thus far been qualified by the secretariat

Alia Atlas,Juniper Networks
Lixia Zhang,UCLA
Wassim Haddad ,Ericsson
Glen Zorn,Network Zen
Richard Barnes,BBN Technologies
Stephen Kent,BBN Technologies
Scott Mansfield,Ericsson
Tina TSOU (Ting ZOU),FutureWei Technologies
Fernando Gont,UTN/FRH
Karen Seo,BBN Technologies
Jie Dong,Huawei Technologies
Mach Chen,Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd.
Sheng Jiang,Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd.
Dimitri Papadimitriou,Alcatel-Lucent
Thomas D. Nadeau,CA Technologies
David Meyer,Cisco Systems/University of Oregon
Wesley George,Time Warner Cable
Cullen Jennings,Cisco
Stephen Hanna,Juniper Networks
Stephan Wenger,Bidyo Inc.
Keyur Patel,Cisco Systems
Michael (Mike) Hamilton,BreakingPoint Systems
Behcet Sarikaya,Huawei USA
Mark Townsley,Cisco Systems
Fred Baker,Cisco Systems
Brian Trammell,ETH Zürich
Sam Hartman,Painless Security
Chris Griffiths,Comcast
George Michaelson,APNIC
Jiankang Yao,CNNIC
Sohel Khan,Comcast
Dacheng Zhang,Huawei
Lianshu Zheng,Huawei Technologies
Hui Deng,China Mobile
Gang Chen,China Mobile
Mirja Kühlewind,University of Stuttgart IKR
John E Drake,Juniper Networks
Matt Lepinski,BBN Technologies
Subir Das,Telcordia Technologies Inc
Yi Zhao,Huawei
John Scudder,Juniper Networks
Christer Holmberg,LM Ericsson
Teemu Savolainen,Nokia
Samita Chakrabarti,Ericsson
Jaap Akkerhuis,NLnet labs
Jason Weil,Time Warner Cable
Randy Bush,Internet Initiative Japan
Christian Schmidt,Nokia Siemens Networks
Sean Shen,CNNIC
Lou Berger,LabN Consulting L.L.C.
Donald Eastlake,Huawei
Xiaohu Xu,Huawei Technologies co. Ltd.
Börje Ohlman,Ericsson
Deborah Brungard,AT&T
Magnus Westerlund,Ericsson
Zhen Cao,China Mobile
Hadriel Kaplan,Acme Packet
Lilla Dovner,Ericsson
John Jason Brzozowski,Comcast
Jonne Soininen,Renesas Mobile
Javier Ubillos,Swedish Institute of Computer Science
Eric Gray,Ericsson
Thomas Herbst,Silver Spring Networks
Ning Zong,Huawei Technologies
Haibin Song,Huawei Technologies
Yingjie Gu,Huawei Technologies
Hongyu Li,Huawei Technologies
Terry Manderson,ICANN
Ari Keranen,Ericsson
Jouni Korhonen,Nokia Siemens Networks
Bhumip Khasnabish,ZTE USA Inc.
Dapeng Liu,China Mobile
Fangwei Hu,ZTE Corporation
Ole Troan,Cisco
Pascal Thubert,Cisco
Wojciech Dec,Cisco
Gunter Van de Velde,Cisco
Ning So,Verizon Inc./University of Texas at Dallas
Guoman liu,ZTE
Simon Pietro Romano,Meetecho/University of Napoli
Luca Martini,Cisco
Bill VerSteeg,Cisco
Toerless Eckert,Cisco Systems
Joseph Salowey,Cisco Systems

The primary activity for this nomcom will begin during IETF-81 in
Quebec City and should be completed by January 2012. The nomcom will
be collecting requirements from the community, as well as talking to
candidates and to community members about candidates. There will be
regularly scheduled conference calls to ensure progress. Thus, being a
nomcom member does require some time commitment.
Please volunteer by sending an email to me before 
11:59 pm EDT July 10, 2011 as follows:

Subject: Nomcom 2011-12 Volunteer

Please include the following information in the body of the mail:

Full Name:  // As you enter in the IETF Registration Form,
            // First/Given name followed by Last/Family Name

Current Primary Affiliation: // typically what goes in the Company 
                             // field in the IETF Registration Form

Email Address(es): // all email addresses used to Register for the 
                   // past 5 IETF meetings
		   // Please designate a Preferred email address for
                   // contact if there is more than one email address

Telephone number:  // With country code (for confirmation if selected)

Please expect an email response from me within 3 business days stating
whether or not you are qualified.  If you do not receive a response in
this timeframe, please re-send your email with the tag "RESEND:" added
to the subject line.

If you are not yet sure you would like to volunteer, please consider
that Nomcom members play a very important role in shaping the
leadership of the IETF.  Ensuring the leadership of the IETF is fair
and balanced and comprised of those who can lead the IETF in the right
direction is an important responsibility that rests on the IETF
participants at large. Volunteering for the Nomcom is a good way of
contributing in that direction.

I will be publishing a more detailed target timetable, as well as
details of the randomness seeds to be used for the RFC 3797 selection
process very soon.

Thank you in advance for your participation.

Suresh Krishnan
Nomcom Chair 2011-2012