Skip to main content

NomCom 2015: Second call for nominations
September 11, 2015

NomCom Chair 2015 <>
IETF Announcement List <>
September 11, 2015
NomCom 2015: Second call for nominations
This is the SECOND call for nominations for the 2015-2016 nomcom.

The 2015-16 Nominating Committee (Nomcom) is seeking nominations from
now until October 8, 2015. The open positions being considered by this
year's Nomcom can be found at the end of this email and also on this
year's Nomcom website:

Nominations may be made by selecting the Nominate link at the top of
the Nomcom 2015 home page, or by visiting the following URL:

  {Note that nominations made using the web tool require an
   datatracker account. You can create a datatracker account
   if you don't have one already by visiting the following URL: }

If you are unable to use the web form, nominations may instead be made
by email to If using email, please include the word
"Nominate" in the Subject and indicate in the email who is being
nominated, their email address (to confirm acceptance of the
nomination), and the position for which you are making the nomination.
If you are nominating someone other than yourself, please tell us if
we may tell the nominee that you were the one who made the nomination.
If you wish to nominate someone via email for more than one position,
please use separate emails to do so.

Self-nomination is welcome!

NomCom 2015-16 will follow the policy for "Open Disclosure of Willing
Nominees" described in BCP 10/RFC 7437.  As stated in RFC 7437: "The
list of nominees willing to be considered for positions under review
in the current Nomcom cycle is not confidential". Willing nominees for
each position will be listed in a publicly accessible way - anyone
with a datatracker account may access the lists.  Additionally, the
nomination form asks if we may share your own name with the
nominee. In all other ways, the confidentiality requirements of BCP10
remain in effect.  All feedback and all Nomcom deliberations will
remain confidential and will not be disclosed.

The list of nominees who have accepted their nomination is visible at
this link:

There is a field on the form you can mark in order to allow the Nomcom
to tell the nominee that you were the one who made the
nomination. This is a new thing this year, and it defaults to “no” -
we won’t tell. After the nomination cycle, we will evaluate the result
of this and recommend whether the next Nomcom should do something

In order to ensure time to collect sufficient community feedback about
each of the willing nominees, nominations must be received by the
Nomcom on or before October 8, 2015.

Please submit your nominations as early as possible for the sake of
your nominees. Note that nominations should not wait for management
permission, as it is easier to decline the nomination than put one in
late.  We have set the questionnaire submission deadline for October
15, 2015.

The Nomcom appoints individuals to fill the open slots on the IAOC,
the IAB, and the IESG. The list of people and posts whose terms end
with the March 2016 IETF meeting, and thus the positions for which
this Nomcom is responsible, follows:

* Mary Barnes
* Joe Hildebrand
* Ted Hardie
* Erik Nordmark
* Brian Trammell
* Marc Blanchet

- Alissa Cooper, ART
- Barry Leiba, ART
- Brian Haberman, Internet (*)
- Benoit Claise, O&M
- Alia Atlas, Routing
- Kathleen Moriarty, Security
- Martin Stiemerling, Transport (*)

*- have indicated that they do not intend to accept a
renomination. This information is always up to date on

Please be resourceful in identifying possible candidates for these
positions, as developing our talent is a very crucial requirement for
the IETF, and also, please consider accepting a nomination.  You'll
find extensive information about specific positions, developed by the
IAB, IESG, and IAOC, under individual tabs at:

In addition to nominations, the Nomcom seeks community input on the
positions themselves.  We need and welcome the community's views and
input on the jobs within each organization. If you have ideas on the
positions' responsibilities (more, less, different), please let us

Please send suggestions and feedback about this to

Thank you for your help in identifying qualified nominees!

Harald Alvestrand
Nomcom Chair 2015-16,