Skip to main content

Third and FINAL call for volunteers, Nomcom 2016-2017
June 15, 2016

NomCom Chair 2016 <>
IETF Announcement List <>
June 15, 2016
Third and FINAL call for volunteers, Nomcom 2016-2017
***Reminder: Deadline for volunteering for Nomcom is June 22 2016 ***

The IETF nomcom appoints folks to fill the open slots on the IAOC, the IAB,
and the IESG.

Ten voting members for the nomcom are selected in a verifiably random
way from a pool of volunteers. The more volunteers, the better chance we
have of choosing a random yet representative cross section of the IETF

The details of the operation of the nomcom can be found in RFC 7437,
and BCP10/RFC3797 details the selection algorithm.

Volunteers must have attended 3 of the past 5 IETF meetings.  As specified 
in RFC 7437, that means three out of the five past meetings up to the time
this email announcement goes out to start the solicitation of volunteers.
The five meetings out of which you must have attended *three*

IETF = 91 (Honolulu)      \
       92 (Dallas)         \
       93 (Prague)          -*** ANY THREE!
       94 (Yokohama)       /
       95 (Buenos Aires)  /

If you qualify, please volunteer.   However, much as we want this, before
you decide to volunteer, please be sure you are willing to forgo appointment
to any of the positions for which this nomcom is responsible.

As of today, we have 115 confirmed volunteers. 126 of those who ticked the
box on the registration form for Buenos Aires have not yet responded.

If you believe you have volunteered, and your name is NOT below, please
contact me as soon as possible.

Thank you for volunteering!

The list of people and posts whose terms end with the March 2017 IETF
meeting, and thus the positions for which this nomcom is responsible, are


    Lou Berger


    Ralph Droms*
    Russ Housley*
    Robert Sparks
    Andrew Sullivan
    Dave Thaler*
    Suzanne Woolf


    Jari Arkko (GEN)
    Deborah Brungard (RTG)
    Ben Campbell (ART)
    Spencer Dawkins (TSV)
    Stephen Farrell (SEC)*
    Joel Jaeggli (OPS)*
    Terry Manderson (INT)
    Alvaro Retana (RTG)

All appointments are for 2 years. The ART and Routing areas have 3 ADs and
the General area has 1; all other areas have 2 ADs. Thus, all areas (with
the exception of GEN) have at least one continuing AD. Current members
tagged with a * have indicated that they will not accept another nomination
to serve in their current role.

The primary activity for this nomcom will begin in July 2016 and should be
completed in January 2017.  The nomcom will have regularly scheduled
conference calls to ensure progress. There will be activities to collect
requirements from the community, review candidate questionnaires, review
feedback from community members about candidates, and talk to candidates.

While being a nomcom member does require some time commitment it is also a
very rewarding experience.

As a member of the nomcom it is very important that you be able to attend
IETF97 (Seoul) to conduct interviews. Being at IETF96 (Berlin) is useful for
orientation.  Being at IETF98 is not essential.

Please volunteer by sending me an email before 23:59 UTC June 20, 2016, as

Subject: Nomcom 2016-17 Volunteer

Please include the following information in the email body:

Your Full Name: __________
    // as you write it on the IETF registration form
Current Primary Affiliation:
    // Typically what goes in the Company field
    // in the IETF Registration Form
Emails: _______________
   // All email addresses used to register for the past 5 IETF meetings
   // Preferred email address first
Telephone: _______________________
    // For confirmation if selected

You should expect an email response from me within 5 business days stating
whether or not you are qualified.  If you don't receive this response,
please re-send your email with the tag "RESEND"" added to the subject line.

If you are not yet sure if you would like to volunteer, please consider that
nomcom members play a very important role in shaping the leadership of the
IETF. Questions by email or voice are welcome. Volunteering for the nomcom
is a great way to contribute to the IETF!

You can find a detailed timeline on the nomcom web site at:

I will be publishing details of the randomness seeds to be used for the 
RFC 3797 selection process at the end of next week.

Thank you!

Lucy Lynch

=====  qualified volunteers so far, in alphabetical order by last name

Bernard Aboba
Cengiz Alaettinoglu
Ignas Bagdonas
Fred Baker
Vishnu Pavan Beeram
Marc Blanchet
John Bradley
John Brzozowski
Randy Bush
Ross Callon
Ross Callon
Daniele Ceccarelli
Hao Chen
Huaimo Chen
Mach Chen
Uma Chunduri
Laurent Ciavaglia
David Conrad
Mike Davison
Dhruv Dhody
Andrew Dolganow
Jie Dong
Linda Dunbar
Donald Eastlake 3rd
Charles Eckel
Toerless Eckert
Nalini Elkins
Mehmet Ersue
Aaron Falk
Ross Finlayson
Hannes Gredler
Wassim Haddad
Joel Halpern
Susan Hares
Niel Harper
Robert Hinden
Paul Hoffman
Christer Holmberg
Christian Hopps
Yihong Huang
Christian Huitema
Shumon Huque
Geoff Huston
Luigi Iannone
Chris Inacio
Cullen Jennings
Sheng Jiang
Yuanlong Jiang
Michael Jones
Georgios Karagiannis
Ari Keränen
Daniel King
Ning Kong
jouni korhonen
Dirk Kutscher
Richard Lamb
David Lawrence
Edward Lemon
Richard Li
Yizhou Li
Salvatore Loreto
Scott Mansfield
Carlos Martinez-Cagnazzo
Luca Martini
Patrick McManus
George Michaelson
Daniel Migault
Matthew Miller
Gregory Mirsky
Sanjay Mishra
Adam Montville
Anthony Nadalin
Karen O'Donoghue
Christian O'Flaherty
Börje Ohlman
Steve Olshansky
Benno Overeinder
Joe Parrott
Keyur Patel
Simon Perreault
Jon Peterson
Walter Pienciak
Stan Ratliff
Peter Resnick
Simon Pietro Romano
Kyle Rose
Damien Saucez
John Scudder
Mohit Sethi
Melinda Shore
Varun Singh
Michael StJohns
John Strassner
George Swallow
Jeff Tantsura
Pascal Thubert
Mark Townsley
Ole Troan
Hannes Tschofenig
Stig Venaas
Eric Vyncke
Jason Weil
Magnus Westerlund
Tim Wicinski
Timothy Winters
Paul Wouters
Liang Xia
Min Ye
Peter Yee
Lixia Zhang
Xian Zhang
Zhaohui Zhang
Yi Zhao