datatracker.ietf.org
Sign in
Version 5.7.1.p2, 2014-10-29
Report a bug

Supercharged Codes
draft-stauffer-rmt-bb-fec-supercharged-04

Document type: Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Document stream: No stream defined
Last updated: 2014-09-28 (latest revision 2014-03-27)
Intended RFC status: Unknown
Other versions: (expired, archived): plain text, pdf, html

Stream State:No stream defined
Document shepherd: No shepherd assigned

IESG State: Expired
Responsible AD: (None)
Send notices to: No addresses provided

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found here:
http://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-stauffer-rmt-bb-fec-supercharged-04.txt

Abstract

This document describes a fully-specified FEC scheme for the Supercharged forward error correction code. Supercharged codes are designed for use on the erasure channel. Coding for the erasure channel commonly arises for data transmission over the internet, where lower layers either successfully deliver packets or fail to deliver them. Coding is required to insure that data is not lost, even if packets are lost at the lower layers. Error free reception is important for multimedia applications, such as streaming, where it may not be possible to correct an error in time by any other means. Coding insures that lost packets can be recovered.

Authors

Erik Stauffer <eriks@broadcom.com>
BZ Shen <bzshen@broadcom.com>
Soumen Chakraborty <soumen@broadcom.com>
Djordje Tujkovic <djordje@broadcom.com>
Jing Huang <jingh@broadcom.com>
Shiv Shet <shivaprakash@broadcom.com>
Kamlesh Rath <krath@broadcom.com>

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid)