Requirements for In-situ OAM
draft-brockners-inband-oam-requirements-03

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2017-09-14 (latest revision 2017-03-13)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-brockners-inband-oam-requirements-03.txt

Abstract

This document discusses the motivation and requirements for including specific operational and telemetry information into data packets while the data packet traverses a path between two points in the network. This method is referred to as "in-situ" Operations, Administration, and Maintenance (OAM), given that the OAM information is carried with the data packets as opposed to in "out-of-band" packets dedicated to OAM. In situ OAM complements other OAM mechanisms which use dedicated probe packets to convey OAM information.

Authors

Frank Brockners (fbrockne@cisco.com)
Shwetha Bhandari (shwethab@cisco.com)
Sashank Dara (sadara@cisco.com)
Carlos Pignataro (cpignata@cisco.com)
Hannes Gredler (hannes@rtbrick.com)
John Leddy (john_leddy@cable.comcast.com)
Stephen Youell (stephen.youell@jpmorgan.com)
David Mozes (davidm@mellanox.com)
Tal Mizrahi (talmi@marvell.com)
Petr <>
remy@barefootnetworks.com (remy@barefootnetworks.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)