Encapsulations for In-situ OAM Data
draft-brockners-inband-oam-transport-05

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2018-01-04 (latest revision 2017-07-03)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-brockners-inband-oam-transport-05.txt

Abstract

In-situ Operations, Administration, and Maintenance (OAM) records operational and telemetry information in the packet while the packet traverses a path between two points in the network. In-situ OAM is to complement current out-of-band OAM mechanisms based on ICMP or other types of probe packets. This document outlines how in-situ OAM data fields can be transported in protocols such as NSH, Segment Routing, VXLAN-GPE, native IPv6 (via extension headers), and IPv4. Transport options are currently investigated as part of an implementation study. This document is intended to only serve informational purposes.

Authors

Frank Brockners (fbrockne@cisco.com)
Shwetha Bhandari (shwethab@cisco.com)
Vengada Govindan (venggovi@cisco.com)
Carlos Pignataro (cpignata@cisco.com)
Hannes Gredler (hannes@rtbrick.com)
John Leddy (john_leddy@cable.comcast.com)
Stephen Youell (stephen.youell@jpmorgan.com)
Tal Mizrahi (talmi@marvell.com)
David Mozes (davidm@mellanox.com)
Petr Lapukhov (petr@fb.com)
Remy Chang (unknown-email-Remy-Chang)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)