IPv6 Segment Routing Header (SRH)
draft-previdi-6man-segment-routing-header-08

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (6man WG)
Last updated 2015-11-27 (latest revision 2015-10-02)
Replaced by draft-ietf-6man-segment-routing-header
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream WG state Adopted by a WG
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-ietf-6man-segment-routing-header
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-previdi-6man-segment-routing-header-08.txt

Abstract

Segment Routing (SR) allows a node to steer a packet through a controlled set of instructions, called segments, by prepending a SR header to the packet. A segment can represent any instruction, topological or service-based. SR allows to enforce a flow through any path (topological, or application/service based) while maintaining per-flow state only at the ingress node to the SR domain. Segment Routing can be applied to the IPv6 data plane with the addition of a new type of Routing Extension Header. This draft describes the Segment Routing Extension Header Type and how it is used by SR capable nodes.

Authors

Stefano Previdi (sprevidi@cisco.com)
Clarence Filsfils (cfilsfil@cisco.com)
Brian Field (brian_field@cable.comcast.com)
Ida Leung (ida.leung@rci.rogers.com)
Jen Linkova (furry@google.com)
Ebben Aries (exa@fb.com)
Tomoya Kosugi (kosugi.tomoya@lab.ntt.co.jp)
√Čric Vyncke (evyncke@cisco.com)
David Lebrun (david.lebrun@uclouvain.be)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)