Extending YANG for events, actions, and finite state machine
draft-sambo-opsawg-ccamp-supa-ext-yang-fsm-00

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2017-06-28
Replaced by draft-sambo-netmod-yang-fsm
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-sambo-netmod-yang-fsm
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-sambo-opsawg-ccamp-supa-ext-yang-fsm-00.txt

Abstract

Network operators and service providers are facing the challenge of deployment of systems from different vendors while looking for a trade-off among transmission performance, network device reuse, and capital expenditure without the need of being tied to single vendor equipment. The deployment and operation of more dynamic and programmable transport optical network infrastructures can be driven by adopting model-driven and software-defined control and management paradigms. In this context, YANG enables to compile a set of consistent vendor-neutral data models for optical networks and components based on actual operational needs emerging from heterogeneous use cases. This document extends YANG from data to functional modeling in order to describe events, operations, and finite state machine of YANG-defined network elements. The proposed models can be applied in the context of optical networks to pre- instruct data plane devices (e.g., an optical transponder) on the actions to be performed (e.g., code adaptation) in case some events, such as physical layer degradations, occur.

Authors

Nicola Sambo (nicola.sambo@sssup.it)
Matteo Dallaglio (matteo.dallaglio@sssup.it)
Piero Castoldi (piero.castoldi@sssup.it)
Giuseppe Fioccola (giuseppe.fioccola@telecomitalia.it)
Andrea Di Giglio (andrea.digiglio@telecomitalia.it)
Filippo Cugini (filippo.cugini@cnit.it)
Giacomo Bernini (g.bernini@nextworks.it)
Pietro Giardina (p.giardina@nextworks.it)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)