A Network Virtualization Overlay Solution using EVPN

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2014-06-19
Replaced by draft-ietf-bess-evpn-overlay
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-ietf-bess-evpn-overlay
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at


This document describes how EVPN can be used as an NVO solution and explores the various tunnel encapsulation options over IP and their impact on the EVPN control-plane and procedures. In particular, the following encapsulation options are analyzed: MPLS over GRE, VXLAN, and NVGRE.


Ali Sajassi (sajassi@cisco.com)
John Drake (jdrake@juniper.net)
Nabil Bitar (nabil.n.bitar@verizon.com)
Aldrin Isaac (aisaac71@bloomberg.net)
Jim Uttaro (uttaro@att.com)
Wim Henderickx (wim.henderickx@alcatel-lucent.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)