MPLS Egress Protection Framework
draft-shen-mpls-egress-protection-framework-07

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (mpls WG)
Last updated 2018-01-10 (latest revision 2017-11-14)
Replaced by draft-ietf-mpls-egress-protection-framework
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream WG state Adopted by a WG
Document shepherd Loa Andersson
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-ietf-mpls-egress-protection-framework
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to Loa Andersson <loa@pi.nu>

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-shen-mpls-egress-protection-framework-07.txt

Abstract

This document specifies a fast reroute framework for protecting IP/ MPLS services and MPLS transport tunnels against egress node and egress link failures. In this framework, the penultimate-hop router of an MPLS tunnel acts as the point of local repair (PLR) for egress node failure, and the egress router of the MPLS tunnel acts as the PLR for egress link failure. Each of them pre-establishes a bypass tunnel to a protector. Upon an egress node or link failure, the corresponding PLR performs local failure detection and local repair, by rerouting packets over the corresponding bypass tunnel. The protector in turn performs context label switching or context IP forwarding to send the packets to the ultimate service destination(s). This mechanism can be used to reduce traffic loss before global repair reacts to the failure and control plane protocols converge on the topology changes due to the failure. The framework is applicable to all types of IP/MPLS services and MPLS tunnels. Under the framework, service protocol extensions may be further specified to support service label distribution to the protector.

Authors

Yimin Shen (yshen@juniper.net)
Jeyananth Jeganathan (minto@juniper.net)
Bruno Decraene (bruno.decraene@orange.com)
Hannes Gredler (hannes@rtbrick.com)
Carsten Michel (c.michel@telekom.de)
Huaimo Chen (huaimo.chen@huawei.com)
Yuanlong Jiang (jiangyuanlong@huawei.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)