Cloud Networking: VPN Applicability and NVo3 Gap Analysis
draft-bitar-nvo3-vpn-applicability-02

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2014-04-24 (latest revision 2013-10-21)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-bitar-nvo3-vpn-applicability-02.txt

Abstract

Multi-tenant data centers and clouds provide computing, storage and network resources dedicated per tenant. The current focus in the evolution of multi-tenant data-center and cloud networks is to (1) support a large number of tenants with a large number of communicating systems, (2) provide isolation among tenant virtual networks, (3) provide for efficient network utilization, and (4) support virtual machine mobility and network elasticity that match compute and storage elasticity. The NVo3 work effort is initially targeted to identify the requirements for large multi-tenant data centers, and develop a framework architecture that addresses those requirements. In addition, it is targeted to identify existing or evolving solutions used in cloud networking, their applicability to NVo3, and any gaps that they may have in addressing the NVo3 requirements. This document describes the applicability of existing work in various IETF Working Groups (e.g., RFCs and drafts developed or evolving in IETF L2VPN and L3VPN Working Groups) to cloud networking and NVo3, as well as the gaps and problems that need to be further addressed.

Authors

Nabil Bitar (nabil.bitar@verizon.com)
Florin Balus (florin.balus@alcatel-lucent.com)
Marc Lasserre (marc.lasserre@alcatel-lucent.com)
Wim Henderickx (wim.henderickx@alcatel-lucent.com)
Ali Sajassi (sajassi@cisco.com)
Luyuan Fang (lufang@cisco.com)
Yuichi Ikejiri (y.ikejiri@ntt.com)
Mircea Pisica (mircea.pisica@bt.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)