Segment Routing Use Cases
draft-filsfils-spring-segment-routing-use-cases-01

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2015-04-24 (latest revision 2014-10-21)
Replaces draft-filsfils-rtgwg-segment-routing-use-cases
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-filsfils-spring-segment-routing-use-cases-01.txt

Abstract

Segment Routing (SR) leverages the source routing and tunneling paradigms. A node steers a packet through a controlled set of instructions, called segments, by prepending the packet with an SR header. A segment can represent any instruction, topological or service-based. SR allows to enforce a flow through any topological path and service chain while maintaining per-flow state only at the ingress node of the SR domain. The Segment Routing architecture can be directly applied to the MPLS dataplane with no change on the forwarding plane. It requires minor extension to the existing link-state routing protocols. Segment Routing can also be applied to IPv6 with a new type of routing extension header.

Authors

Clarence Filsfils (cfilsfil@cisco.com)
Pierre Francois (pierre.francois@imdea.org)
Stefano Previdi (sprevidi@cisco.com)
Bruno Decraene (bruno.decraene@orange.com)
Stephane Litkowski (stephane.litkowski@orange.com)
Martin Horneffer (Martin.Horneffer@telekom.de)
Igor Milojevic (igormilojevic@telekom.rs)
Rob Shakir (rob.shakir@bt.com)
Saku Ytti (saku@ytti.fi)
Wim Henderickx (wim.henderickx@alcatel-lucent.com)
Jeff Tantsura (jeff.tantsura@ericsson.com)
Sriganesh Kini (sriganesh.kini@ericsson.com)
Edward Crabbe (edward.crabbe@gmail.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)