Loss and Delay Traffic Engineering Framework for MPLS

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2013-04-25 (latest revision 2012-10-22)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at


Deployment and usage of cloud based applications and services that use an underlying MPLS network are expanding and an increasing number of applications are extremely sensitive to delay and packet loss. Furthermore, in cloud computing an additional decision problem arises of simultaneously choosing the data center to host applications along with MPLS network connectivity such that the overall performance of the application is met. Mechanisms exist to measure and monitor MPLS path performance parameters for packet loss and delay, but the mechanisms work only after the path has been setup. The cloud-based and performance sensitive applications would benefit from measurement of MPLS network and potential path information that would be provided for use in the computation before LSP setup and then the selection of LSPs. This document provides a framework and architecture to solve operator problems and requirements using current/proposed approaches, documents scalability assessment and recommendations, and identifies any needed protocol development.


Xihua Fu (fu.xihua@zte.com.cn)
Vishwas Manral (vishwas.manral@hp.com)
Dave McDysan (dave.mcdysan@verizon.com)
Andrew Malis (andrew.g.malis@verizon.com)
Spencer Giacalone (Spencer.giacalone@thomsonreuters.com)
Malcolm Betts (malcolm.betts@zte.com.cn)
Qilei Wang (wang.qilei@zte.com.cn)
John Drake (jdrake@juniper.net)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)