Optimized Ingress Replication solution for EVPN
draft-ietf-bess-evpn-optimized-ir-03

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (bess WG)
Last updated 2018-08-27 (latest revision 2018-02-23)
Replaces draft-rabadan-bess-evpn-optimized-ir
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status Proposed Standard
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream WG state WG Consensus: Waiting for Write-Up
Document shepherd Matthew Bocci
IESG IESG state Expired
Consensus Boilerplate Yes
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to Matthew Bocci <matthew.bocci@nokia.com>

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-bess-evpn-optimized-ir-03.txt

Abstract

Network Virtualization Overlay (NVO) networks using EVPN as control plane may use ingress replication (IR) or PIM-based trees to convey the overlay BUM traffic. PIM provides an efficient solution to avoid sending multiple copies of the same packet over the same physical link, however it may not always be deployed in the NVO core network. IR avoids the dependency on PIM in the NVO network core. While IR provides a simple multicast transport, some NVO networks with demanding multicast applications require a more efficient solution without PIM in the core. This document describes a solution to optimize the efficiency of IR in NVO networks.

Authors

Jorge Rabadan (jorge.rabadan@nokia.com)
Senthil Sathappan (senthil.sathappan@nokia.com)
Wim Henderickx (wim.henderickx@nokia.com)
Ali Sajassi (sajassi@cisco.com)
Aldrin Isaac (aisaac@juniper.net)
Mukul Katiyar (mukul@versa-networks.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)