Design Alternative for Detecting Network Attachment in IPv6 Networks (DNAv6 Design Alternative)
draft-ietf-dna-protocol-09

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (dna WG)
Last updated 2009-12-02
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html
Stream WG state WG Document
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-dna-protocol-09.txt

Abstract

In this memo, a mechanism that was developed for detection of network attachement is documented for future reference. This memo is an informational document and thus does not define a new standard. The mechanism proposed in this experimental RFC requires the hosts to monitor all the prefixes advertised on the link and use it for link identification in the presence of non-DNAv6 routers is presented. A more efficient link-identification mechanism requiring the DNAv6 routers to monitor the link for advertised prefixes to assist the hosts in link identification combined with a fast router advertisement mechanism that selects the order of response for the router deterministically is also presented.

Authors

Sathya Narayanan (snarayanan@csumb.edu)
James Kempf (kempf@docomolabs-usa.com)
Erik Nordmark (nordmark@acm.org)
Brett Pentland (brett.pentland@eng.monash.edu.au)
JinHyeock Choi (jinchoe@samsung.com)
Greg Daley (gdaley@netstarnetworks.com)
Nicolas Montavont (montavont@dpt-info.u-strasbg.fr)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)