Protocol Independent Multicast-Sparse Mode (PIM-SM): Motivation and Architecture
draft-ietf-idmr-pim-arch-05

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (idmr WG)
Last updated 1998-08-05
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream WG state WG Document
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Expired
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-idmr-pim-arch-05.txt

Abstract

Traditional multicast routing mechanisms (e.g. DVMRP and MOSPF [1][2]) were intended for use within regions where groups are widely represented or bandwidth is universally plentiful. When group members, and senders to those group members, are distributed sparsely across a wide area, these schemes are not efficient; data packets or membership report information are periodically sent over many links that do not lead to receivers or senders, respectively. This characteristic lead the Internet community to investigate multicast routing architectures that efficiently establish distribution trees across wide-area internets, where many groups are sparsely represented and where bandwidth is not uniformly plentiful due to the distances and multiple administrations traversed. Efficiency is evaluated in terms of the state, control message processing, and data packet processing required across the entire network in order to deliver data packets to the members of the group.

Authors

Deborah Estrin (destrin@isi.edu)
Van Jacobson (van@ee.lbl.gov)
Dino Farinacci (dino@cisco.com)
Liming Wei (lwei@redback.com)
Steve Deering (deering@cisco.com)
Mark Handley (mjh@isi.edu)
Dave Thaler (dthaler@microsoft.com)
Ching-Gung Liu (charley@fla.fujitsu.com)
Puneet Sharma (puneetsh@catarina.usc.edu)
Ahmed Helmy (ahelmy@usc.edu)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)