Skip to main content

DNS Directorate (dnsdir)

Directorate (with reviews) Name DNS Directorate
Acronym dnsdir
Area Operations and Management Area (ops)
State Active
Additional resources Wiki
Personnel Chairs Geoff Huston, Jim Reid
Area Directors Éric Vyncke, Warren "Ace" Kumari
Secretaries Geoff Huston, Jim Reid
Reviewers Anthony Somerset
David Blacka
David C Lawrence
Di Ma
Florian Obser
Geoff Huston
James Gannon
Jim Reid
Johan Stenstam
Matt Brown
Nicolai Leymann
Patrick Mevzek
Paul Wouters
Peter van Dijk
Petr Špaček
Ralf Weber
R. (Miek) Gieben
Scott Rose
Ted Lemon
Tim Wicinski
Vladimír Čunát
Mailing list Address

Group description

DNS directorate reviewers assist Area Directors, Working Group chairs, and document authors with documents containing DNS-related content.

WG chairs or responsible ADs may request a DNS directorate review via the draft's Datatracker page. They are encouraged to do so as early in the process as possible to ensure that structural concerns are caught early in the document development.

More detailed guidance on DNS directorate process can be found at:

The DNS directorate reviews will be sent to the DNS Directorate mailing list (, draft authors, WG chairs, and the respective AD.

The DNS directorate secretaries will assign reviews to reviewers, but they are not required to check the list of IETF drafts for DNS-related ones. The DNS directorate reviewers and secretary are volunteers, and serve at the pleasure of the INT and OPS area ADs.