Skip to main content

Liaison statement
LS on Establishment of new Focus Group on “IMT-2020”

Additional information about IETF liaison relationships is available on the IETF webpage and the Internet Architecture Board liaison webpage.
State Posted
Submitted Date 2015-06-10
From Group ITU-T-SG-13
From Contact Tatiana Kurakova
To Group IETF
To Contacts The IETF Chair <>
Cc The IESG <>
Response Contact
Purpose For information
Attachments LS on Establishment of new Focus Group on “IMT-2020”
ITU-T Study Group 13 would kindly like to inform you that it has established a
new Focus Group on “IMT-2020” with the objective to produce materials of a gap
analysis in order to identify the relevant scope of ITU-T Recommendations on
the non radio related network parts of IMT-2020. The Focus Group is expected to
identify goals for future studies by ITU-T Study Group 13 on IMT-2020. The
lifetime of the Focus Group is limited until the next SG13 meeting 30 November
– 11 December 2015.

Chairman of the Focus Group:
Mr Peter Ashwood–Smith, Huawei Technologies Canada

Vice-chairmen of the Focus Group:
        Mr Luca Pesando, Telecom Italia
        Mr Hideo Imanaka, NTT, Japan
        Mr Yachen Wang, China Mobile
        Mr Nam-Seok Ko, ETRI, Republic of Korea

The Terms of Reference of the Focus Group are included in Annex 1.

The first meeting of FG IMT-2020 is scheduled to take place at Crowne Plaza San
Diego - Mission Valley in San Diego, California, United States, from 8-9 June

The second meeting of FG IMT-2020 will take place at ITU headquarters in
Geneva, Switzerland, from 13-14 July 2015.

Future meetings are planned from 14-16 September 2015 in Milan, Italy, and from
27-29 October 2015 in Beijing, China.

For meeting announcements and updates please sign up for the FG IMT-2020
mailing list (TIES or free ITU Guest account required), or consult the Focus
Group website:

SG13 appreciates your interest and collaboration on this topic.