Skip to main content

Liaison statement
LS on work on MPLS-TP protection

State Posted
Submitted Date 2016-03-08
From Group ITU-T-SG-15
From Contact Hiroshi Ota
To Group mpls
To Contacts Loa Andersson <loa@pi.nu>
George Swallow <swallow.ietf@gmail.com>
Ross Callon <rcallon@juniper.net>
Cc Alvaro Retana <aretana@cisco.com>
Deborah Brungard <db3546@att.com>
Multiprotocol Label Switching Discussion List <mpls@ietf.org>
Scott Mansfield <Scott.Mansfield@Ericsson.com>
George Swallow <swallow.ietf@gmail.com>
John Drake <jdrake@juniper.net>
Alia Atlas <akatlas@gmail.com>
Ross Callon <rcallon@juniper.net>
Loa Andersson <loa@pi.nu>
itu-t-liaison@iab.org
Response Contact tom.huber@coriant.com
lihan@chinamobile.com
Purpose For comment
Deadline 2016-05-16 Action Taken
Attachments Liaison
Liaisons referring to this one Update on MPLS-TP protection work in MPLS and PALS working groups
Body
ITU-T SG15 wishes to inform the IETF mpls WG of an update to the ITU-T Q9/15
work programme to include a second amendment to Recommendation ITU-T
G.8131/Y.1382 Linear protection switching for MPLS transport profile. This
amendment will cover pseudowire protection based on Appendix A of IETF RFC
7771. The amendment is targeted for consent at the September 2016 plenary
meeting of SG15.

ITU-T Q9/15 has also been made aware of the initiation of work on MPLS-TP
Shared-Ring protection (MSRP) mechanism for ring topology in
draft-ietf-mpls-tp-shared-ring-protection-00, and has consequently re-initiated
work on draft Recommendation ITU-T G.8132/Y.1383 Ring protection switching for
MPLS transport profile. As ITU-T Q9/15 intends to reference and be aligned with
corresponding normative RFCs, we would appreciate your assessment of the
anticipated completion date for draft-ietf-mpls-tp-shared-ring-protection as
the target consent date for draft Recommendation ITU-T G.8132/Y.1383 depends on
it.