Skip to main content

Liaison statement
In Response to Liaison to IETF on YANG Models to enable G.fast deployments

State Posted
Submitted Date 2016-08-08
From Groups netconf, netmod
From Contact Benoît Claise
To Group BROADBAND-FORUM
To Contacts michael.fargano@centurylink.com
Cc Joel Jaeggli <joelja@bogus.com>
Mahesh Jethanandani <mjethanandani@gmail.com>
David Sinicrope <david.sinicrope@ericsson.com>
Mehmet Ersue <mehmet.ersue@nokia.com>
NETCONF Data Modeling Language Discussion List <netmod@ietf.org>
Kent Watsen <kwatsen@juniper.net>
Lou Berger <lberger@labn.net>
Benoit Claise <bclaise@cisco.com>
Network Configuration Discussion List <netconf@ietf.org>
Response Contact Jürgen Schönwälder <j.schoenwaelder@jacobs-university.de>
Tom Nadeau <tnadeau@lucidvision.com>
Mahesh Jethanandani <mjethanandani@gmail.com>
Mehmet Ersue <mehmet.ersue@nokia.com>
Purpose In response
Attachments (None)
Liaisons referred by this one Liaison to IETF on YANG Models to enable G.fast deployments
Body
Dear all,

The NETMOD and NETCONF WGs thank you for referencing the work of the
IETF and contributing to the drafts you mention through the IETF
process. This is by far the best way to complete the work in a timely
manner and continues to foster the open and cooperative working
relationship between the IETF and the Broadband Forum.

In the mean time, the two drafts you note became WG documents:
draft-ietf-netmod-entity and draft-ietf-netmod-intf-ext-yang-00. We
encourage you to follow progress on data tracker
https://datatracker.ietf.org/doc/draft-ietf-netmod-intf-ext-yang/ and
https://datatracker.ietf.org/doc/draft-ietf-netmod-entity/ and through
the participation you have noted.

Regarding your interest to work on "forwarding/QoS and required
protocols (e.g. layer 2 multicast model & DHCP)", please note that there
are already a couple of forwarding related YANG data models, mainly L3
forwarding. There is also a QoS related YANG data model,
draft-asechoud-netmod-qos-model, which we believe could become a WG
document. And finally, a YANG multicast design team,
https://trac.tools.ietf.org/wg/pim/trac/wiki/yang, focuses on producing
PIM and IGMP/MLD YANG data models. Please work with the respective
contributors so that the layer 2 specific data model aspects nicely fit
in the overall data models.

If you have interest in other related IETF work please don't hesitate to
let us know.

Please continue to keep us apprised of your work noted.