Skip to main content

Liaison statement
Review and Comment on TR-350 Issue 2 - Ethernet Services using BGP MPLS Based Ethernet VPNs (EVPN) – ELINE and ETREE

State Posted
Submitted Date 2017-08-08
From Group BROADBAND-FORUM
From Contact Michael Fargano
To Groups bess, mpls, RTG
To Contacts Martin Vigoureux <martin.vigoureux@alcatel-lucent.com>
Thomas Morin <thomas.morin@orange.com>
Nicolai Leymann <n.leymann@telekom.de>
Loa Andersson <loa@pi.nu>
George Swallow <swallow.ietf@gmail.com>
Alia Atlas <akatlas@gmail.com>
Alvaro Retana <aretana@cisco.com>
Deborah Brungard <db3546@att.com>
Cc Alvaro Retana <aretana@cisco.com>
Deborah Brungard <db3546@att.com>
Multiprotocol Label Switching Discussion List <mpls@ietf.org>
David Sinicrope <david.sinicrope@ericsson.com>
Alia Atlas <akatlas@gmail.com>
BGP Enabled ServiceS Discussion List <bess@ietf.org>
Martin Vigoureux <martin.vigoureux@nokia.com>
The IETF Chair <chair@ietf.org>
George Swallow <swallow.ietf@gmail.com>
Loa Andersson <loa@pi.nu>
Thomas Morin <thomas.morin@orange.com>
Nicolai Leymann <n.leymann@telekom.de>
rmersh@broadband-forum.org
Response Contact david.sinicrope@ericsson.com
Purpose For comment
Deadline 2017-09-06 Action Taken
Attachments WT-350i2SBLiaison.approved
WT-350i2ELineETree.SBText-Sinicrope-RnTAD
Body
Dear Colleagues,

In November 2015, the BBF published TR-350 - Ethernet Services using BGP MPLS
Based Ethernet VPNs (EVPN) which covered architecture and equipment
requirements for implementation of ELAN service types using the EVPN technology.

Also in November 2015, the BBF started working the second phase of the TR-350
work adding ELINE and ETREE service types to this important specification. The
work has progress through 2016 and early 2017 and has entered the beginning of
the Broadband Forum approval process. During this phase we would greatly
appreciate your review and comments.

To consider your comments during our 3Q2017 meeting we would need to receive
them by 6 September 2017. Comments received after 6 September will be
considered during our 4Q2017 meeting in December 2017.

We look forward to working with you and we would like to thank you for your
timely consideration and response.

Sincerely,
Michael Fargano,
Broadband Forum Technical Committee Chair

CC:
Robin Mersh, Broadband Forum CEO <rmersh@broadband-forum.org>