Liaison statement
Broadband Forum NMDA Questions

State Posted
Posted Date 2017-09-20
From Group BROADBAND-FORUM
From Contact Michael Fargano
To Groups netmod, OPS
To Contacts Warren Kumari
Benoit Claise
Jürgen Schönwälder
Tom Nadeau
CcDavid Sinicrope
Kent Watsen
Warren Kumari
The IETF Chair
Lou Berger
Benoit Claise
Network Modeling Discussion List
Response Contact michael.fargano@centurylink.com
david.sinicrope@ericsson.com
Purpose For comment
Deadline 2017-11-27 Action Needed
Attachments 41;.final
Body
Dear all,

The Broadband Forum has been considering the impact of NMDA (Network Management
Datastore Architecture) on its YANG work.

Many of our standard and draft YANG modules are dependent on the
ietf-interfaces (RFC 7223) and ietf-hardware (draft-ietf-netmod-entity) YANG
modules, both of which will be impacted by NMDA. Therefore we need to decide
whether (and, if so, how) we should update our published and draft YANG
modules. We see three possible approaches: • Ignore NMDA, relying on the fact
that updated IETF YANG modules will retain backwards compatibility. • Embrace
NMDA, updating all our YANG modules to use single trees (no separate state
trees). • Support NMDA, while retaining backwards compatibility in the same way
as IETF YANG modules will do so.

Our decision will be affected by:
• Our level of confidence that NMDA will be the "last big change" to the way in
which IETF YANG modules are written. • The timescales on which NMDA-compliant
versions of the ietf-interfaces and ietfhardware YANG modules will be published
as RFCs (we note that NMDA-compliant versions of these modules are now
available).

We would much appreciate your feedback on our analysis of the possible
approaches and on our concerns as expressed above.

Sincerely
Michael Fargano
Broadband Forum Technical Committee Chair

CC:
David Sinicrope, BBF / IETF Liaison Officer/Manager,
<david.sinicrope@ericsson.com> Sven Ooghe, BBF Common YANG Project Stream
Leader, <sven.ooghe@nokia.com> William Lupton, BBF Common YANG Project Stream
Leader, <wlupton@broadbandforum. org> Robin Mersh, Broadband Forum CEO
<rmersh@broadband-forum.org> Gabrielle Bond, Broadband Forum Secretariat
<gbond@broadband-forum.org> Statements at IETF <statements@ietf.org> Liaisons
at BBF <liaisons@broadband-forum.org>

Next Meetings of the Broadband Forum

Reference: LIAISE-83

Attachments: none