Extensions for Network-Assisted MPTCP Deployment Models
draft-boucadair-mptcp-plain-mode-10

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Last updated 2017-09-10 (latest revision 2017-03-09)
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-boucadair-mptcp-plain-mode-10.txt

Abstract

Because of the lack of Multipath TCP (MPTCP) support at the server side, some service providers now consider a network-assisted model that relies upon the activation of a dedicated function called MPTCP Conversion Point (MCP). Network-Assisted MPTCP deployment models are designed to facilitate the adoption of MPTCP for the establishment of multi-path communications without making any assumption about the support of MPTCP by the communicating peers. MCPs located in the network are responsible for establishing multi-path communications on behalf of endpoints, thereby taking advantage of MPTCP capabilities to achieve different goals that include (but are not limited to) optimization of resource usage (e.g., bandwidth aggregation), of resiliency (e.g., primary/backup communication paths), and traffic offload management. This document specifies extensions for Network-Assisted MPTCP deployment models.

Authors

Mohamed Boucadair (mohamed.boucadair@orange.com)
Christian Jacquenet (christian.jacquenet@orange.com)
Olivier Bonaventure (olivier.bonaventure@tessares.net)
Denis Behaghel (denis.behaghel@oneaccess-net.com)
stefano.secci@lip6.fr (stefano.secci@lip6.fr)
Wim Henderickx (wim.henderickx@alcatel-lucent.com)
Robert Skog (robert.skog@ericsson.com)
Suresh Vinapamula (sureshk@juniper.net)
SungHoon Seo (sh.seo@kt.com)
Wouter Cloetens (wouter.cloetens@softathome.com)
Ullrich Meyer (ullrich.meyer@vodafone.com)
Luis Contreras (luismiguel.contrerasmurillo@telefonica.com)
Bart Peirens (bart.peirens@proximus.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)