AC-Influenced Designated Forwarder Election for EVPN
draft-ietf-bess-evpn-ac-df-03

Document Type Replaced Internet-Draft (bess WG)
Last updated 2018-03-28 (latest revision 2018-01-18)
Replaces draft-rabadan-bess-evpn-ac-df
Replaced by draft-ietf-bess-evpn-df-election-framework
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status Informational
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream WG state Dead WG Document
Document shepherd Stephane Litkowski
IESG IESG state Replaced by draft-ietf-bess-evpn-df-election-framework
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to Stephane Litkowski <stephane.litkowski@orange.com>

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-bess-evpn-ac-df-03.txt

Abstract

The Designated Forwarder (DF) in EVPN networks is the PE responsible for sending multicast, broadcast and unknown unicast traffic to a multi-homed CE, on a given Ethernet Tag on a particular Ethernet Segment (ES). The DF is selected based on the list of PEs that advertise the Ethernet Segment Identifier (ESI) to the EVPN network. While PE node or link failures trigger the DF re-election for a given <ESI, EVI>, individual Attachment Circuit (AC) or MAC-VRF failures do not trigger such DF re-election and the traffic may therefore be permanently impacted, even though there is an alternative path. This document improves the DF election algorithm so that the AC status can influence the result of the election and this type of "logical" failures can be protected too.

Authors

Jorge Rabadan (jorge.rabadan@nokia.com)
Kiran Nagaraj (kiran.nagaraj@nokia.com)
Senthil Sathappan (senthil.sathappan@nokia.com)
Vinod Prabhu (vinod.prabhu@nokia.com)
Autumn Liu (hliu@ciena.com)
Wen Lin (wlin@juniper.net)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)