BGP based Multi-homing in Virtual Private LAN Service
draft-ietf-bess-vpls-multihoming-05

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (bess WG)
Last updated 2020-05-13 (latest revision 2019-07-26)
Replaces draft-ietf-l2vpn-vpls-multihoming
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status Proposed Standard
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized (tools) htmlized bibtex
Reviews
Stream WG state Submitted to IESG for Publication (wg milestone: Dec 2018 - Submit specification... )
Document shepherd Matthew Bocci
Shepherd write-up Show (last changed 2019-09-05)
IESG IESG state Expired (IESG: Dead)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD Martin Vigoureux
Send notices to Matthew Bocci <matthew.bocci@nokia.com>
IANA IANA review state IANA OK - Actions Needed

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-bess-vpls-multihoming-05.txt

Abstract

Virtual Private LAN Service (VPLS) is a Layer 2 Virtual Private Network (VPN) that gives its customers the appearance that their sites are connected via a Local Area Network (LAN). It is often required for the Service Provider (SP) to give the customer redundant connectivity to some sites, often called "multi-homing". This memo shows how BGP-based multi-homing can be offered in the context of LDP and BGP VPLS solutions. This document updates RFC 4761 by defining new flags in the Control Flags field of the Layer2 Info Extended Community.

Authors

Bhupesh Kothari (bhupesh@anvaya.net)
Kireeti Kompella (kireeti.kompella@gmail.com)
Wim Henderickx (wim.henderickx@nokia.com)
Florin Balus (fbalus@gmail.com)
Jim Uttaro (uttaro@att.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)