IETF Network Slice for 5G and its characteristics
draft-rokui-5g-ietf-network-slice-00

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (individual)
Authors Reza Rokui  , Shunsuke Homma  , Xavier de Foy  , Luis Contreras  , Philip Eardley  , Kiran Makhijani  , Hannu Flinck  , Rainer Schatzmayr  , Ali Tizghadam  , Christopher Janz  , Henry Yu 
Last updated 2021-05-06 (latest revision 2020-11-02)
Replaces draft-rokui-5g-transport-slice
Stream (None)
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text xml htmlized pdfized bibtex
Stream Stream state (No stream defined)
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
RFC Editor Note (None)
IESG IESG state Expired
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-rokui-5g-ietf-network-slice-00.txt

Abstract

5G Network slicing is an approach to provide separate independent end-to-end logical network from User Equipment (UE) to various mobile applications where each network slice has its own Service Level Agreement (SLA) and Objectives (SLO) requirements. Each end-to-end network slice consists of a multitude of contexts across RAN, Core and transport domains each with its own controller. To provide automation, assurance and optimization of the 5G the network slices, a 5G E2E network slice orchestrator is needed which interacts with controllers in RAN, Core and Transport network domains. The interfaces between the 5G E2E network slice orchestrator and RAN and Core controllers are defined in various 3GPP technical specifications. However, 3GPP has not defined a similar interface for transport network. The aim of this document is to describe E2E network slicing and its relation to "IETF network slice" for 5G use-case. It also provides an information model for control and mangement of IETF network slices for 5G.

Authors

Reza Rokui (reza.rokui@nokia.com)
Shunsuke Homma (shunsuke.homma.ietf@gmail.com)
Xavier de Foy (xavier.defoy@interdigital.com)
Luis Contreras (luismiguel.contrerasmurillo@telefonica.com)
Philip Eardley (philip.eardley@bt.com)
Kiran Makhijani (kiranm@futurewei.com)
Hannu Flinck (hannu.flinck@nokia-bell-labs.com)
Rainer Schatzmayr (rainer.schatzmayr@telekom.de)
Ali Tizghadam (ali.tizghadam@telus.com)
Christopher Janz (christopher.janz@huawei.com)
Henry Yu (henry.yu1@huawei.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)