Skip to main content

Liaison statement
New Request for Comment Published (RFC 4139)

Additional information about IETF liaison relationships is available on the IETF webpage and the Internet Architecture Board liaison webpage.
State Posted
Submitted Date 2005-08-16
From Group ccamp
From Contact Adrian Farrel
To Group ITU-T-SG-15
To Contacts Greg Jones <>
Cc Kireeti Kompella <>
CCAMP Working Group <>
Bill Fenner <>
Alex Zinin <>
Hing-Kam Lam <>
Response Contact Adrian Farrel <>
Purpose For information
Attachments (None)
Liaisons referring to this one Cryptographic Message Syntax Coordination
The CCAMP Working Group of the IETF wishes to inform Study Group 15 of the
ITU-T of the publication of a new Request for Comment.

RFC 4139 "Requirements for Generalized MPLS (GMPLS) Signaling Usage and
Extensions for Automatically Switched Optical Network (ASON)" is available at

The Abstract of this RFC reads as follows.

   The Generalized Multi-Protocol Label Switching
   (GMPLS) suite of protocols has been defined to
   control different switching technologies and
   different applications.  These include support for
   requesting Time Division Multiplexing (TDM)
   connections, including Synchronous Optical Network
   (SONET)/Synchronous Digital Hierarchy (SDH) and
   Optical Transport Networks (OTNs).

   This document concentrates on the signaling aspects
   of the GMPLS suite of protocols.  It identifies the
   features to be covered by the GMPLS signaling
   protocol to support the capabilities of an
   Automatically Switched Optical Network (ASON). This
   document provides a problem statement and additional
   requirements for the GMPLS signaling protocol to
   support the ASON functionality.

The CCAMP Working Group would like to thank the members and Questions of Study
Group 15 for the helpful input and review feedback that they provided while
this document was being developed.

The CCAMP Working Group continues to actively pursue protocol solutions for the
ASON model and seeks to harmonise GMPLS and ASON. We will keep you informed of
our future progress.

Adrian Farrel and Kireeti Kompella
CCAMP Working Group Co-chairs