Skip to main content

Third and FINAL call for volunteers, Nomcom 2015-2016
June 15, 2015

NomCom Chair 2015 <>
IETF Announcement List <>
June 15, 2015
Third and FINAL call for volunteers, Nomcom 2015-2016
***Reminder: Deadline for volunteering for Nomcom is in ONE WEEK.***

The IETF nomcom appoints folks to fill the open slots on the IAOC, the IAB,
and the IESG.

Ten voting members for the nomcom are selected in a verifiably random
way from a pool of volunteers. The more volunteers, the better chance we
have of choosing a random yet representative cross section of the IETF

The details of the operation of the nomcom can be found in RFC 7437,
and BCP10/RFC3797 details the selection algorithm.

Volunteers must have attended 3 of the past 5 IETF meetings.  As specified 
in RFC 7437, that means three out of the five past meetings up to the time
this email announcement goes out to start the solicitation of volunteers.
The five meetings out of which you must have attended *three*

IETF 88 (Vancouver), \
         89 (London),       \
         90 (Toronto),         *** ANY THREE!
         91 (Honolulu),     /
         92 (Dallas)        /

If you qualify, please volunteer.   However, much as we want this, before
you decide to volunteer, please be sure you are willing to forgo appointment
to any of the positions for which this nomcom is responsible.

As of today, we have 151 confirmed volunteers. 72 of those who ticked the
box on the registration form for Hawaii, Dallas and Prague have still not

If you believe you have volunteered, and your name is NOT below, please
contact me as soon as possible.

Thank you for volunteering!

The list of people and posts whose terms end with the March 2016 IETF
meeting, and thus the positions for which this nomcom is responsible, are

No terms expire at this time.

Mary Barnes
Joe Hildebrand
Ted Hardie
Erik Nordmark
Brian Trammell
Marc Blanchet

Alissa Cooper (ART)
Barry Leiba (ART)
Brian Haberman (Internet)
Benoit Claise (Operations and Management)
Alia Atlas (Routing)
Kathleen Moriarty (Security)
Martin Stiemerling (Transport)

The Applications  and Real-Time (ART) area is the expected new area
resulting from the merge of the APP and RAI areas.
All appointments are for 2 years.
The ART and Routing areas have 3 ADs and the General area has 1; all other areas have 2 ADs.
Thus, all areas have at least one continuing AD.

The primary activity for this nomcom will begin in July 2015 and should be
completed in January 2016.   The nomcom will have regularly scheduled
conference calls to ensure progress. (We might dogfood WebRTC)
There will be activities to collect requirements from the community, review
candidate questionnaires, review feedback from community members about
candidates, and talk to candidates.

Thus, being a nomcom member does require some time commitment; but it is also
a very rewarding experience.

It is very important that you be able to attend IETF94 (Yokohama) to conduct interviews.
Being at IETF93 (Prague) is useful for orientation.  Being at IETF95 is not essential.

Please volunteer by sending me an email before 11:59 pm CET (UTC +2 hours)
June 22, 2015, as follows:

Subject: Nomcom 2015-16 Volunteer

Please include the following information in the email body:

Your Full Name: __________
    // as you write it on the IETF registration form
Current Primary Affiliation:
    // Typically what goes in the Company field
    // in the IETF Registration Form
Emails: _______________
   // All email addresses used to register for the past 5 IETF meetings
   // Preferred email address first
Telephone: _______________________
    // For confirmation if selected

You should expect an email response from me within 3 business days stating
whether or not you are qualified.  If you don't receive this response,
please re-send your email with the tag "RESEND"" added to the subject line.

If you are not yet sure if you would like to volunteer, please consider
that nomcom members play a very important role in shaping the leadership
of the IETF.  Questions by email or voice are welcome.
Volunteering for the nomcom is a great way to contribute to the IETF!

You will find a detailed timeline on the nomcom web site at:

Thank you!
Harald Alvestrand

=====  qualified volunteers so far, in alphabetical order by first name
Adam Montville
Adrian Farrel
ANDREW Dolganow
Andrew Newton
Andy Bierman
ANM Zaheduzzaman Sarker
Anoop Ghanwani
Anthony Nadalin
Ari Keranen
Benno Overeinder
Bernard Aboba
Bing Liu
Borje Ohlman
Carl Moberg
Carlos Martinez
Cengiz Alaettinoglu
Charles Eckel
Charles Perkins
Chris Bowers
Christer Holmberg
Christian Huitema
Christian O'Flaherty
Cong Liu
Corinna Schmitt
Cullen Jennings
Damien Saucez
Daniele Ceccarelli
Dapeng Liu
David Conrad
David Lamparter
David Mandelberg
David Sinicrope
Dean Bogdanovic
Derek Atkins
Dhruv Dhody
Dimitri Papadimitriou
Donald Eastlake 3rd
Edward Lemon
Eliot Lear
Emil Ivov
Eric Gray
Eric Vyncke
Fangwei Hu
Fernando Gont
Fred Baker
George Michaelson
George Swallow
Georgios Karagiannis
Gonzalo Salgueiro
Gregory Mirsky
Hannes Gredler
Hongyu Li
Huaimo Chen
Ignas Bagdonas
Jason Weil
Jean-Marc Valin
Jean-Michel Combes
Jesus Maria Martin Garcia
Joel Halpern
John Bradley
John Brzozowski
John Drake
John Mattsson
John Scudder
Jon Hudson
Jon Mitchell
jouni korhonen
Karen O'Donoghue
Keith Moore
Kenneth Gray
Kent Watsen
Kepeng Li
Keyur Patel
Laurent Ciavaglia
Lee Howard
Liang Xia
Linda Dunbar
Lingli Deng
Lixia Zhang
Lucy Lynch
Luigi Iannone
Magnus Westerlund
Mahalingam Mani
Mark Townsley
Matthew Bocci
Matthew Lepinski
Mehmet Ersue
Michael Jones
Michael StJohns
Min Ye
nalini elkins
Nancy Cam-Winget
Nathan Egge
Niel Harper
Ning Kong
Ning Zong
Ole Jacobsen
Ole Trøan
Pascal Thubert
Patrick McManus
Paul Wouters
Peng Fan
Peter Koch
Peter Yee
Pål-Erik Martinsen
Rich Salz
Richard Barnes
Robby Simpson
Ron Bonica
Ross Callon
Salvatore Loreto
Sam K. Aldrin
Sanjay Mishra
Scott Mansfield
Sheng Jiang
Simon Perreault
Sri Gundavelli
Stephan Wenger
Stephen Kent
Steve Donovan
Steve Olshansky
Steven Wright
Suhas Nandakumar
Suresh Krishnan
Susan Hares
Thomas Nadeau
Thomas Walsh
Tim Wicinski
Timothy Terriberry
Tina (Ting) Tsou (Zou)
Tobias Gondrom
Toerless Eckert
Tomohiro Fujisaki
Tony Hansen
Uma Chunduri
Vic Liu
Vijay Gurbani
Warren Kumari
Wassim Haddad
Wijnands IJsbrand
Xufeng Liu
Yi Zhao
Yihong Huang
Yizhou Li
Yuanlong Jiang
Zhaohui Zhang