BGP Community Container Attribute
draft-ietf-idr-wide-bgp-communities-04

Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (idr WG)
Last updated 2017-09-03 (latest revision 2017-03-02)
Replaces draft-raszuk-wide-bgp-communities
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
plain text pdf html bibtex
Stream WG state WG Document (wg milestone: Apr 2016 - Solicit work items f... )
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Expired
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-idr-wide-bgp-communities-04.txt

Abstract

Route tagging plays an important role in external BGP [RFC4271] relations, in communicating various routing policies between peers. It is also a very common best practice among operators to propagate various additional information about routes intra-domain. The most common tool used today to attach various information about routes is through the use of BGP communities [RFC1997]. This document defines a new encoding which will enhance and simplify what can be accomplished today with the use of BGP communities. The most important addition this specification makes over currently defined BGP communities is the ability to specify, carry as well as use for execution an operator's defined set of parameters. It also provides an extensible platform for any new community encoding needs in the future.

Authors

Robert Raszuk (robert@raszuk.net)
Jeffrey Haas (jhaas@juniper.net)
Andrew Lange (andrew.lange@nokia.com)
Bruno Decraene (bruno.decraene@orange.com)
Shane Amante (amante@apple.com)
Paul Jakma (paul.jakma@hpe.com)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)