Wide BGP Communities Attribute
draft-ietf-idr-wide-bgp-communities-01

The information below is for an old version of the document
Document Type Expired Internet-Draft (idr WG)
Last updated 2016-05-25 (latest revision 2015-11-22)
Replaces draft-raszuk-wide-bgp-communities
Stream IETF
Intended RFC status (None)
Formats
Expired & archived
pdf htmlized bibtex
Stream WG state WG Document
Document shepherd No shepherd assigned
IESG IESG state Expired
Consensus Boilerplate Unknown
Telechat date
Responsible AD (None)
Send notices to (None)

This Internet-Draft is no longer active. A copy of the expired Internet-Draft can be found at
https://www.ietf.org/archive/id/draft-ietf-idr-wide-bgp-communities-01.txt

Abstract

Route tagging plays an important role in external BGP [RFC4271] relations, in communicating various routing policies between peers. It is also a very common best practice among operators to propagate various additional information about routes intra-domain. The most common tool used today to attach various information about routes is through the use of BGP communities [RFC1997]. Such information is important to allow BGP speakers to perform some mutually agreed actions without the need to maintain a separate offline database for each tuple of prefix and associated set of action entries. This document defines a new encoding which will enhance and simplify what can be accomplished today with the use of BGP communities. The most important addition this specification makes over currently defined BGP communities is the ability to specify, carry as well as use for execution an operator's defined set of parameters. It also provides an extensible platform for any new community encoding needs in the future.

Authors

Robert Raszuk (robert@raszuk.net)
Jeffrey Haas (jhaas@juniper.net)
Andrew Lange (andrew.lange@alcatel-lucent.com)
Shane Amante (amante@apple.com)
Bruno Decraene (bruno.decraene@orange.com)
Paul Jakma (paulj@dcs.gla.ac.uk)
Richard Steenbergen (ras@nlayer.net)

(Note: The e-mail addresses provided for the authors of this Internet-Draft may no longer be valid.)